beaucoup bars (a.k.a. hello dolly bars)

These bars are known as Hello Dolly bars. I have no idea where that name comes from – perhaps Satchmo loved these, and used his large mouth to eat as many at a time as he possibly could. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

They also can be called Magic Bars, Seven-layer bars, or probably lots of other things. I choose to call them Beaucoup Bars because that is exactly what they are. Too much.

I made these as a dessert for a dinner party, intending for them to be easy to eat, a nice hand-held alternative to a cake/pie/tart. I grossly underestimated the power of these tiny little artery-cloggers.

You start with a graham cracker crust. Then you put every single delicious thing you can find on top of it. Some people choose to layer their toppings nicely, but I follow the mix-it-up school of thought, because this way you never know what each bite will contain. Anyways, whichever method you prefer, once you are done adding your fixings, you dump a can of sweetened condensed milk over the whole thing, stick it in the oven, and for the love of god, jump on a treadmill till they are done. And for about 5 hours more afterwards.

Traditionally, toppings include chocolate chips, shredded coconut, butterscotch chips, and pecans. I skipped the butterscotch chips, and instead incorporated Heath toffee bits. This worked really well, because the toffee provides a little much-needed saltiness to the mix.

These were so delicious, but a little too rich to be a regular indulgence. Next time, I would try using fat-free sweetened condensed milk, and maybe upping the amount of toffee bits, and cutting down on the chocolate chips a little bit. Also, I have no official measurements of toppings for this recipe, because I just eyeballed how much I would need. Go with your soon-to-be-slightly-larger gut.

Graham Cracker Crust Recipe

  • 2  1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
  • 9 Tbsp. unsalted butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350°.

In a bowl, combine graham cracker crumbs and melted butter. Press mixture evenly into the bottom of a greased 9×13 baking dish.

Add desired toppings on top of crust (layering if desired). Pour a can of sweetened condensed milk evenly over the entire pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until top is slightly golden brown.

One thought on “beaucoup bars (a.k.a. hello dolly bars)

  1. Well, given that I’ve already run 8 miles today, I think I’ve earned my right to eat a whole pan of these. Thank goodness because they look damn good!

Leave a Reply

